10 Reasons Why I Love the Nicene Creed

I have not always had a deep love for the creeds, even now I’m not sure I would call it a deep love, in the same way I think about my wife, or Jesus…But, I have come to appreciate the richness of liturgy and in particular, the Nicene Creed…At the moment, here’s why I love it…

heart

1. It is thoroughly Trinitarian
2. Scripture points to it and it points to Scripture
3. As the Church continues to proclaim it, I like to think we honour our dead brothers and sisters who fought for it
4. It guards the doctrine of God
5. I feel like I’m joining in with the saints throughout the ages when I say it at Church
6. It reminds me that I worship the Spirit as well
7. Sometimes, I think in my head as I say it; ‘yeah, I do believe in the Church’
8. It has stood the test of time
9. It is something all Christians can declare. I love that it therefore, promotes true unity
10. It just sounds awesome when a full congregation bellows it out…

Love it or hate it, why?

6 Responses to “10 Reasons Why I Love the Nicene Creed”

  1. Christine Says:

    I like that it gives a concise “list”, if you like, of what we believe and, by default, what is not scriptural. It makes for a good “ready reference” when you wish to test the validity of someone’s statement about Christianity or when separating core beliefs from acquired traditions.

  2. Too right Christine – they’re great points.

    One of the things I’m reminded about with creeds is that Christians have lived and died by them. It reminds me that we are part of the Church Militant and stand with solidarity alongside those who have come before us.

    The other thing that sends shivers up my spine is knowing that in a world which has all but given up on truth – this is what we stand and believe to be utterly true.

  3. stephengardner Says:

    Thanks for your comments. Particularly Christine — thanks for contributing, hopefully it wont be the last time 🙂

  4. katierae Says:

    “5. I feel like I’m joining in with the saints throughout the ages when I say it at Church”

    This is one of the greatest things for me about the creeds. I feel the enormity of what the ‘church’ really is when I remember that in saying these creeds I join millions of my brothers and sisters who have said them.

    Ephesians 2 tells us that the church exists not only here on earth but in the heavenly realms – a concept that can be hard to grasp. but sharing in the creeds with those who have been before helps me see that a little clearer.

  5. Dude, you should check out this conference coming up at the PTC in Sydney. It’s called Confess or Die! what a name eh…. should be heaps good though. Carl Trueman’s speaking, and it’s worth going to hear alone. Probably one of the world’s best reformed Historical Theologians today. http://www.confessordie.com/

Leave a Reply

